Results of the 2020 AHA Board of Directors Election


In accordance with its bylaws, the American Humanist Association conducted an election for six positions on the AHA Board of Directors. All AHA members in good standing received a ballot via email through eBallot Inc., a third-party voting site and/or were notified via Free Mind and a special email that went to all addresses in our records. Voting officially opened on September 21 and closed on October 16.

Elected or re-elected to four year terms are:

Rob Boston, Abby Hafer, Sunil Panikkath, Ellen Sutliff, Mandisa Thomas, and Jason Wiles. The board members-elect will begin serving their terms on January 1, 2021.

Continuing to serve on the board are:

John Hooper, Jennifer Kalmanson, Howard Katz, Monica Miller, Juhem Navarro-Rivera, and Christine Shellska, as well as non-voting member Roy Speckhardt.

The AHA thanks the members of the Nominations Committee—chaired by Aaron Bishop and Fred Edwords, and including Tris Mamone, Samantha McGuire, and Madhvi Potluri—for volunteering their time. The AHA also wishes to recognize Krista Cox, Sue Reamer, and Sharon Welch who also stood for election.

Thank you to all who participated in this election, continuing the AHA’s tradition of being the largest democratic humanist organization in the United States.