AHA Announces 2016 Humanist Awardees to Be Honored at 75th Anniversary Conference

Jared Diamond, 2016 Humanist of the Year

Celebrating seventy-five years since the founding of organized humanism in the United States, the American Humanist Association announced the recipients of the 2016 Humanist Awards to be given at its 75th Anniversary Conference in Chicago this May.

Best-selling author, Pulitzer-Prize winner, and UCLA professor Jared Diamond will be honored with the the 2016 Humanist of the Year Award. Other awardees include CODEPINK co-founder Medea Benjamin, who will receive the Humanist Heroine Award; Nebraska State Senator Ernie Chambers, receiving the Lifetime Achievement Award; Star Trek actor John de Lancie, receiving the Humanist Arts Award; cognitive psychologist Elizabeth Loftus, receiving the Isaac Asimov Science Award; and progressive theologian John Shelby Spong, receiving the Religious Liberty Award.

“This year’s awardees exemplify scholarship, activism, science, and art—all while supporting humanist values,” says Susan Sackett, AHA secretary and chair of the awards committee. “We’re thrilled to be associated with such distinguished humanists and look forward to honoring them in May.”

General sessions throughout the conference will cover topics of interest and importance to the humanist community, including climate change, feminism, LGBTQ equality, social justice, neuroscience, interfaith cooperation, and more. Attendees will have the opportunity to network and meet fellow humanists at the welcome reception on Thursday evening and participate in a post-conference tour of Chicago with visits to the Museum of Science and Industry and the famous John Hancock Center skyscraper on Sunday afternoon.

With this year’s conference being a special anniversary event, it is expected to sell out. Registration is currently open, with an early-bird discount available until February 15. Visit conference.americanhumanist.org to register and view the full schedule.